Guilt-free Snack

  By: Miyuki Nelson <||>  Sometimes, I really want something sweet. Luckily, hubby and I don’t keep any ice cream in the house. Or candy, really, other than the candy he got me for Valentine’s, or the occasional dark chocolate bar. We try not to keep those kinds of tempting things in the house, because of course, we’ll be more apt to eat them. However, I really had a craving for something sweet, but as we’re both trying to lose a little holiday (and before?) weight, I didn’t want to bake a bad choice.

So guilt-free mini cupcakes it is! My mom actually sent me this recipe, which I tried immediately last year and loved. I had to hunt for it tonight, since I forgot the temperature and length of time these need to bake. I’m gonna type it here, for me to find another time, and also, in case you’d like to try it out. It’s so easy. And so good.

  • 1 box of cake mix, any flavor (it’s even more guilt-free if you use sugar free cake mixes)
  • 15 oz. can of pumpkin puree

Okay, that’s all you need. And a muffin pan, of course. I really like and would recommend the mini muffin pan. 24 little cakes to enjoy at leisure? Yes, please!

So, preheat the oven to 400 degrees F, and then spray the pan with non-stick spray. My favorite is the one that’s made for baking and has flour in the spray. It’s super awesome. Now, mix up the cake mix with the pumpkin. The texture’s going to be a little stickier than usual cake mix batter, and that’s fine. I also use a mini ice cream scoop to plop heaping scoops of batter into each cupcake hole. Slot? You know what I mean. Then, place the pan in the oven and set it for 20 minutes. It smells so yummy.

When the oven dinged, Kane jumped up in excitement. Earlier in the evening, I baked up a tray full of his peanut butter and parsley cookies, and I squealed,”Your cookies!” when they were done. In his puppy excitement, he thought it was his cookies being done all over again. Oh dear. It was too funny.

The ones I’ve made tonight are the Pillsbury Sugar-Free Devil’s Food cake with the pumpkin, but I also really love the Sugar-Free Yellow cake, and I add a sprinkle of cinnamon and a dash of vanilla extract into the batter while mixing. Yum.

I guess truthfully, these aren’t totally guilt-free, but they’re a heck of a lot better than having real cupcakes with piles of icing on ‘em. Make some and try them—you won’t regret it!

Tagged dessert, little cakes, mini muffin pan, sugar free cake

Bloglink: http://miyukinelson.wordpress.com/


Thank you for your comment.

